Kuwaiti parliament begins Tues. 16th legislative term since 1963

– The National Assembly will kickstart on Tuesday its 16th legislative term, the first in the era of His Highness the Amir Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah.

Several legislative terms had come to pass since the late Amir Sheikh Abdullah Al-Salem Al-Sabah approved the constitution on November 11th, 1962, a document which regulated the relation among the executive, legislative and judiciary authorities.

On January 29th, 1963, the first legislative term took effect until it ended in on January third, 1967.

The second legislative term began on February seventh, 1967 and lasted until December 30th, 1970.

The opening session of the third legislative term began on February 10th, 1971 and concluded on January 8th, 1975.

The first session of the fourth legislative term began on February 11th, 1975 and continued until August 29th, 1976 while the fifth term kickstarted on March ninth, 1981 and ended on January 19, 1985.

The sixth legislative term began on March 9th, 1985, but the parliament was dissolved on July 3rd, 1986.

On April 22nd, 1990, the late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah formed the national council which ended its first term in August of 1990, the year of the Iraqi invasion of the State of Kuwait.

The council resumed operation and its second term by July 9th, 1991 and concluded the term on August 1st, 1992.

The National Assembly resumed its role on October 20th, 1992 with the seventh legislative term, concluding on October 5th of 1996.

The eight legislative term began on October 20th, 1996, but parliament was dissolved by May 4th, 1999. The ninth legislative term began on July 17th, 1999 and ended on May 31, 2003.

The 10th legislative term began on May 19th, 2003; however, it did not last and was dissolved on May 21st, 2006.

Then came the 11th legislative term, which met the same fate of the last beginning on July 12th of 2006 and dissolving on March 19th, 2008.

The 12th legislative term followed the previous incarnations of parliament with dissolvement, kickstarting on June first, 2008 and ending on March 18, 2009.

The 13th legislative term began on May 31st, 2009 and did not end the cycle of dissolvement, suspending the term on December 6th, 2011.

The dissolving the parliament was the fate of the 14th legislative term, which began on August 6th, 2013 and stopped short on October 16th, 2016.

Finally, the 15th legislative term managed to break the cycle of dissolving parliament beginning the term on December 23rd, 2016 and finishing the term on October 20th, 2020.

The last election on December fifth, 2020 resulted in selection of 50 MPs from 326 hopefuls who took part in the democratic process.

Source: Kuwait News Agency