KUWAIT, – The Amir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, on Wednesday, named Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah, as the new Prime Minister.

Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak will form the new government, and submit the names of his new cabinet members to the Amir for approval.

Today, the Amir received, at Bayan Palace, former National Assembly Speaker, Marzouq Ali Al-Ghanim, former Prime Minister, Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah, and Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah, as part of the ongoing traditional consultations, ahead of forming the new government.

During the regular weekly meeting on Monday, the cabinet approved and referred to the Amir, a draft decree, inviting the newly-elected National Assembly (parliament) to hold the first session of its 15th Legislative Term on Dec 11, 2016.

In line with Article 57 of the Kuwait Constitution, the government submitted its resignation, following Saturday’s parliamentary elections and announcement of results. Article 57 provides that the cabinet ‘shall be reconstituted at the beginning of every legislative term of the National Assembly.”

The full government remains in office until a new one is formed. Article 103 of the Constitution says: “If for any reason, the Prime Minister or a Minister vacates his office, he shall continue to discharge the urgent business thereof, until his successor is appointed.”

Since 1962 until 2016, Kuwait has had seven Prime Ministers.

On Monday, Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak submitted the government’s resignation to the Amir.

Source: Nam News Network